Town CrestMarlborough Town Council
 01672 512487 09:00-16:30 Mon-Fri

VisitMarlborough Instagram buttonbutton to Facebook pagebutton to Twitter pagebutton to Tourist Information pages YouTube link button

Marlborough Town Council
01672 512487 
  E-mail us  5 High Street, Marlborough, SN8 1AA   Weekdays 10am-4pm

social facebook box blue 64  social twitter box blue 64  info   

Mayor Making - photo gallery

Two men and one woman stand facing the camera.   They wear robes and chains of office {Play} Meet Marlborough's 711th Mayor


Updated on 27 May - the photo gallery of this event is available at


On Monday, 17 May 2021, in a masked and socially distanced Annual Town Council Meeting, Councillor Mark Cooper was elected Town Mayor for Marlborough and Councillor Lisa Farrell was elected Deputy Town Mayor. 

A year ago Councillor Cooper became our first "Zoom Mayor" when the annual meeting took place entirely online.  This year we were able to bring our Councillors together in person but without the usual invited guests: instead the event was livestreamed, another first!

Watch here

Mark gave thanks to everyone for helping Marlborough through a difficult year and to his fellow Councillors for electing him to continue as Mayor for a second year.  Councillor Fogg noted that as Mayor in a Covid year, Councillor Cooper had achieved a great deal, excellently steering the Town Council through difficult times, and he and fellow Councillors expressed their sincere hope this will be a more 'normal' year for him.

This was the first time the Council has met in person in more than a year, and with a new four-year Council term just beginning it gave Members the opportunity to get acquainted without a Zoom screen.

 We'll publish a gallery with more photos soon, but in the meantime meet your new Town Council in the photo below.

a group of men and women, most wearing ceremonial robes and facemasks, stand facing the camera

L-R: Front Row: Councillor Nicholas Fogg, Town Clerk Richard Spencer-Williams, Town Mayor Councillor Mark Cooper, Deputy Town Mayor Councillor Lisa Farrell, Councillor Andrew Ross
Centre, L-R: Councillors James Sheppard, Jane Davies, Caroline Thomas, Kymee Cleasby, Noel Barrett-Morton, Jo Waltham, Guy Loosmore, Donald Heath and Mervyn Hall
Rear: L-R: Mace Bearer Bob Dobie, Town Crier Mike Tupman, Mace Bearer Barry Mercer, Mayor's Chaplain Fr. John Blacker

Print Email